Mid-Month Update & #TheReadingQuest Wrap-Up

FINAL

Life has been a little hectic, so my wrap-up is late but I completed my line of books across the Rogue’s Path in time for The Reading Quest’s closing pages.

reading-quest-board1

  • A book published by a small press – Sacrifice by Cindy Pon

I am here for Skybright and Zhen Ni’s friendship. All of the main characters grew, and matured while they were on their separate adventures, which is so true of life.  A great conclusion to a duology filled with gods, immortals, demons and humans.

  • A book with <500 ratings on Goodreads – Bugs by Whiti Hereaka

I’m thankful to Anjulie for hosting a great #BugsReadAlong as part of their Pasifika spotlight on books. Bugs is a coming of age story centred around a Māori teen with a lot of honesty, grit and growth. I appreciated how this book took an unfiltered approach to a teen’s reflection on society’s assumptions. Content warnings are included in my mini-review here.

Dimple warmed my heart and was so relatable. I also appreciate how the story explores Rishi and Dimple’s different approaches to life and their responsibilities. Also, yes to PoC cosplay. Speaking of cosplay, my cousin is participating for Oz Comic Con but I’m not as organised, so will probably just wear my Totoro hoodie.

  • A banned book – Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

This was a very powerful graphic novel memoir about what is like to grow up under a revolution. I am also thankful to Sinead, Romi and Alisha for recommending the excellent animated film adaptation. Very true to the source material.

A searing account from 16 survivors of the war crimes committed against them and the thousands of other women by the Imperial Japanese Army during World War II. I have so much respect for the lolas and all the women who are working to make sure this never happens during any kind of war again. I need to review this ARC. Hopefully, I’ll find the words for how much this book meant to me soon.


Life, art and other pages

I’m behind on my short story TBR but I recently read ‘These Constellations Will Be Yours‘ by Elaine Cuyegkeng. Such a powerful space operatic short story with lush imagery. The way it explored assimilation reminded me so much of the after-effects of Spanish colonialism upon the Philippines.

I’ve been reading a lot of work that has made me reflect on life. It was also the death anniversary of a loved one last week, so that was hard. Sometimes, art helps. For some light, check out the #Drawingwhileblack and #ArtPH tags.

As for the upcoming reading months, I have library books and ARCs to dive into. Also, I’ll be helping launch a book club dedicated to uplifting Asian voices with the same group of bookworms from #AsianLitBingo. Drop by Twitter and the Goodreads Group for more info. We’re hoping to officially launch it in the upcoming coming weeks, so stay tuned for more updates.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mid-Month Update & #TheReadingQuest Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

