For fantasy fans: Sunshine Blogger Award Q&A

Sunshine Blogger Award (2)

Thanks Sinead from Huntress of Diverse Books for the Sunshine Blogger Award! Check out her Q&A. I’ve shared the rules and new questions below my answers to Sinead’s questions:

1. What is your favourite time of the day to read?

Just after brunch/lunch. Need energy and sunlight.

2. Do you like to listen to music while reading? If yes, what kind of music?

Sometimes but I like silence. I can only listen to instrumental music or music without English words to focus. E.g. Ghibli film soundtracks, Explosions in the Sky (band) or Kpop piano covers when I read/write.

3. What was your favourite book/series in your childhood?

A three-way tie between Harry Potter, the Chrestomanci series and the Earthsea books.

4. What is your favourite trope to read about?

Heroines who find out about their unlikely heritage/power with a cunning companion to keep them grounded. Shout-out to Lyra with Pan and Lirael with the Disreputable Dog.

5. How much do book covers influence your reading choices?

If I see an intriguing fantasy cover, I’ll read the blurb. The same for books with PoC on the cover or PoC coded covers (e.g. silhouettes.) Though some of my favourite books have terrible covers, so the actual deciding factor is if I like the writing style in the first few pages.

6. What do you most enjoy about book blogging?

Finding books that resonate with me and/or expand my perception of the world. Also, finding bloggers who do the same. That sense of kinship between book blogger friends who share books is irreplaceable.

7. What hobbies, other than reading, do you have? I am assuming that one of your hobbies is reading, since I’ve nominated book bloggers.

Checking in with SF TV shows and/or recommended anime. Kpop but I need to listen to more Filipino bands. Sometimes, I sketch, and write.

8. Which character do you wish you were friends with in real life?

Tamaki from Ouran High School Host Club. He has a bright energetic personality but I think he’d be fun to befriend. Even though my personality is the opposite, he has a considerate side for quieter friends, so it’s a good balance to have around.

9. Which character’s wardrobe would you like to have?

Sabriel or Lirael’s wardrobe. I just love the colour and designs for the Abhorsen’s house. Check out this fanart of Sabriel by leaveneave. Also, fanart of Lirael by Bee from Melliferousrevival.

Shenwei, Wendy and I read the Abhorsens as Asian, so I’m always happy to find fan art for that AU.

10. What medium do you prefer for your reading? Paperbacks, e-book readers, PC, hardcovers, etc?

Paperback but my e-reader is a lifesaver.

11. In which bookish universe would you like to live?

Hogwarts. *Waives Slytherdor banner.


All readers deserve a Sunshine Blogger award. I nominate anyone who likes fantasy for the questions below:

  1. Which fantasy creature would you like to be reborn as?
  2. What would you like to borrow/keep from another universe?
  3. Favourite childhood tv show?
  4. What would your dream library need?
  5. Favourite shape-shifting character?
  6. Dream book/series to see adapted?
  7. What snack/drink do you recommend?
  8. Favourite book with an illustrated cover?
  9. Where do you want to visit in the world?
  10. Which villain/anti-hero would you befriend?
  11. Which hero would you give advice to?

To accept this award, I must:

  • Thank the person(s) who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo on your post and/or on your blog.

Sunshine Blogger Award.jpg

2 thoughts on “For fantasy fans: Sunshine Blogger Award Q&A

  1. OMG I wish I could be friends with Tamaki as well!!! I feel like life would never ever be boring, haha. I also love the twins even though they drive me batty sometimes. XD Awesome answers. Congrats on the award/nomination. ♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

