book list · own voices

August & September Plans – A Rogue for #TheReadingQuest

Aentee of Read At Midnight is hosting a video game-based reading event known as #TheReadingQuest, which will run from Sunday 13 August – Sunday 10 September 2017. Character art designed by CW of Read, Think, Ponder.

Update: Readers can still participate in #TheReadingQuest for fun after the official sign-up closed on 14 August but won’t be eligible for the book prizes.

To join, adventurers pick a character from a class to play: knight, bard, rogue or mage. Adventurers can tackle books on their TBR by following their character’s marked path on the game-board above.

See #TheReadingQuest Sign-up post for all the rules. Anyone without a blog or booktube can sign up through the alternative Goodreads sign-up post.

Books by marginalised authors earn a reader a bonus of +20 experience points. Both Lauren and Austine have created spreadsheets that automatically calculate points for anyone to use during #TheReadingQuest.

*Though readers who are not interested in calculating points for the book competition can still participate in this reading challenge.

‘ROGUE: These adventurers have absolute mastery over stealth and speed, and they slip in and out of the quest through the Fifth Across path. They celebrate underappreciated books and half-forgotten stories.’

For #TheReadingQuest, I have chosen the Rogue’s path because the path fits my ARC & library book pile:

 

 

 

  • A book with a one word title – Option 1: Laurinda by Alice Pung – or – Option 2: Vixen by Hoa Pham

Laurinda is a contemporary Australian YA book that Wendy lent me, so it comes with the best recommendation. On the other hand, Vixen draws on Vietnamese mythology and history around a fox spirit who comes to live in Australia. Aliette de Bodard, one of my favourite authors, recommended Vixen, so I have good choices.

  • A book published by a small press – Sacrifice by Cindy Pon:

Coming-of-age YA fantasy that draws on Chinese mythology. The library finally accepted my request and ordered Sacrifice, the sequel to the lovely Serpentine.

  • A book with <500 ratings on Goodreads – Bugs by Whiti Hereaka:

Anjulie is hosting a #BugsReadAlong as part of their Pasifika and Māori author spotlight on books. Feel free to hop on! It looks like it’ll be a fun YA contemporary read.

Many friends have recommended these two YA contemporary books with fantastic heroines named Dimple. I can’t wait to read both. (One will count for a side-quest bonus blue square.)

  • A banned book – Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

My library copy arrived after #RamadanReadathon ended but I was surprised to learn that Persepolis was once banned in some US-based schools and in Iran, the author’s native country. Let me know if you’ve read this graphic novel/memoir.

#ARCAugust Side-Quest Square note: If I have time after the above, I’ll pick up some books from my ARC pile for the bonus side-quest points:

You’ll probably see my reading updates on social media:

me01

*Amazing character art above created by CW of Read, Think, Ponder.

#TheReadingQuest Sign-up post includes all the graphics to make an optional character card but if you need any help, I made a few character cards for friends (see Anisha and Nadia‘s TBRs), so I can create a card if needed. I’ve also made a tutorial on how to make your own card in 6 steps using the free Photopea site.

I hope to see many rogues, mages, knights and bards over the next few months!


Update: If I finish the Rogue’s path, I plan to read these books for the side-quests as mentioned above or for the Mage’s Path.

Contains magic – A Jigsaw of Fire and Stars (YA fantasy ARC)

Mythology – Food of the Gods (Fantasy ARC)

Set in a different world – Starswept (YA ARC) or Raven Stratagem (Both SF)

First book in a series – Saga, Vol. 1 (SFF Graphic novel)

Knight’s Path

Verb in its title – Blackbird Fly (MG Contemporary) or Noli Me Tángere (Touch Me Not – Translated historical fiction)

Weapon on the cover – Midnight Robber or The Lives of Tao (Both SFF)

Red cover – Vixen (Fantasy – I borrowed the red cover)

TV/film adaptation – Adulthood Rites (SF – This is book 2 of the Xenogenesis trilogy, Book 1 is Dawn. The Xenogenesis story is being adapted by Ava Duvernay into a film.)

Bard’s path

Fairytale retelling – Upside Down: Inverted Tropes in Storytelling (Fantasy)

Striking typography on cover – Binti or Lagoon (SF)

Translated – A Wild Sheep ChaseThe Rabbit Back Literature Society or The Three-Body Problem
*All books are by marginalised authors except The Rabbit Back Literature Society and Saga.


*Sharing a few book recommendation strategy guides to help below. For the full Twitter thread, scroll up from here to boost.

For Mages: A Book Based On Mythology (by a Marginalised Author). See the Goodreads list for all the titles.

myth - TheReadingQuest Strategy Guide Base-try

For Rogues: A Book Cover With A Partially Obscured Face (by a Marginalised Author). See the Goodreads list for the full list of titles.

Covers - TheReadingQuest Strategy Guide Base

For Bards: A Book Translated from Another Language. See #TheReadingQuest Goodreads forum for the full list of titles.

tramslated - TheReadingQuest Strategy Guide Base-try

For Knights: A Book With A Weapon on its Cover (Part 1). See #TheReadingQuest Goodreads forum for the full list of titles.

weapon cover

For Knights: A Book With A Weapon on its Cover (Part 2). See #TheReadingQuest Goodreads forum for the full list of titles by marginalised authors.

weapon part2

 

*For more book recommendations, support with coffee at Ko-Fi.

4 thoughts on “August & September Plans – A Rogue for #TheReadingQuest

  1. I’ve read Persepolis, a year ago or so. I also watched the movie. Both are worth it, the movie is drawn in the style of the book and keeps very close to the book. I loved both.

    We’ve got a lot of similar ARCs. I cannot wait to start #NotYourPrincess. I’m interested to see what you think of Food of the Gods – don’t have that book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m doing this too! It’s my first read-a-thon ever. I’m a Mage. I don’t read much in the way of fantasy, so I thought it was a fun way to get out of my reading comfort zone. I have no clue what I’m going to read for mythology, so I am going to go check out your list now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

