book list · own voices

#RamadanReadathon TBR – A Reading Challenge for June

rr

Drop by the intro post for the #RamadaReadathon to learn more about this June reading challenge. Also, check out the event schedule and photo challenges here:

ramadan

I’ve been reading slowly since the end of the Asian Lit Bingo in May, so I expect to only read around 3 books in June. Though I’ve made a flexible list based on the Instagram prompts below. The reading challenge itself is very flexible, so if you want to join in, there’s no set theme/number of books to read. I just like to randomly share books on Instagram.  My TBR options:

Book set in a Muslim majority country:

Non-fiction book by a Muslim author:

Book with a Muslim on the cover:

Book you recommend as an Eid gift:

Book releasing soon by a Muslim author:

Feel free to share thoughts on any of the above and/or link your TBRs!

*Asterisk indicates a book by an Australian author. For more books by Australian Muslim writers, check out this great resource.

More book recommendations: Yassmin’s Story, Where the Streets had a Name and God Smites and Other Muslim Girl Problems. On the same thread, I interviewed Samira Ahmed who recommended some excellent books here.

It’s also Pride month, so I’ll re-share predominantly #ownvoices lists or resources that bookish friends have put together on Twitter. For readers who want to support both the Ramadan Readathon and books for Pride month, a list of books by Muslim writers via LGBTQ Reads.

As for blog updates – I’ll hopefully catch up on ARC reviews. Library updates – I’ll be picking up Where the Rekohu Bone Sings by Tina Makereti for Pasifika books and a few books for Ramadan Readathon next week.

7 thoughts on “#RamadanReadathon TBR – A Reading Challenge for June

  1. Wonderful list!! I love that you showcase Australian writers which are rarely on my radar. I’ve got a few books that count for the readathon and pride reading, so fingers crossed I’ll get to those first😁🌈
    Is the Ayesha Dean book a mystery? Sounds like it, need to check, cause mysteries!

    Like

  2. I’m participating as well, and I’ll definitely have to add some of these to my lineup!!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

    1. I’m so happy that you’re taking part in the readathon too! I don’t have much advice – other than to have fun, blog at your own pace and take breaks when you need them. I also wrote a short advice post about the importance of research, #ownvoices books and reviews here: https://paperwanderer.wordpress.com/2016/12/23/reading-reflections-on-reviewing-diversity-retrospective-notes-ownvoices-context-part-2/

      Your blog looks lovely and I wish you the best of luck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

