#AsianLitBingo TBR – A Reading Challenge for May

asianlitbingo-banner

If anyone is up for fun in May, a group of book bloggers and I are co-hosting the #AsianLitBingo. Asian Lit Bingo is a reading challenge aimed at supporting and highlighting books with Asian protagonists by Asian authors. Many thanks to Shenwei for launching this project and bringing all the co-hosts on board.

General Rules for Qualifying Books:

  1. Book must have an Asian main character (can be one of several main characters) and be by an Asian author to qualify. It does not have to be #ownvoices but #ownvoices is strongly encouraged.
  2. Book can be a novel/novella/novelette or comic book/graphic novel.
  3. Book must be read during May 1st through May 31st to qualify.
  4. Review link-up will close end of June 1st at midnight PDT. The extra margin is to give people the opportunity to write up a review for a book they might have finished late May 31st. We’ll follow the honor system assuming you didn’t read the book on June 1st.

Due to the erasure of Pacific Islander identities under the AAPI umbrella & during Asian Pacific American Heritage Month in May, this reading challenge is a separate initiative out of respect for Pasifika activists and their spaces. (July Update: To support Pasifika spaces, please read Anjulie’s post on Pacific Islander erasure in the book community and their Pasifika spotlights posts. Also, check out this Storify of book recommendations.)

See the announcement post by Shenwei for the details on signing up, prizes, interviews and Twitter chats with authors later in the month.

*Update: Timezone Schedule for the #AsianLitChat with readers & authors is live!

Onto the TBR & the reading challenge bingo!

asianlitbingo

We’ve also provided a masterlist of book recommendations for the bingo board to help any readers out. I’ll aim to dart across the middle line but as fellow readers know, I tend to have multiple reading options:

youarethesunshinethatmakesmyday (4)

– Options for SFF –

The title speaks to my heart. Even if I don’t get to my copy in May, I’ll read it this year.

Space opera and werewolves? Yes, please.

I adored the first book, Ninefox Gambit. Ready for more intrigue and space opera. Also has LGBTQ+ rep.

YA space opera. Belatedly added to the TBR after my library reserve came in!

– Options for Historical fiction –

Wendy calmly suggested I read this. I’m a fan of stories about sisters, and MG/YA with heart.

Shenwei convinced me to track down a copy through their review. The illustrated cover is everyone’s goal for YA historical fantasy.

– Options for Free space –

YA fantasy with selkies & a m/m romance. CW recommended it when we were chatting about the wonderful Not Your Sidekick.

I’m catching up on Tamaki’s work before the writer’s festival. Her later YA graphic novel Skim is one of my favourite books.

A gritty contemporary Feminist book that tackles rape culture. Recommended by a few diverse book bloggers.

– Options for Retelling –

A lyrical fantasy novel with Chinese mythology.

I didn’t realise my copy of the book had a transparent mythical Kappa on the cover until I tilted it in the light. Curious to learn more.

– Options for Contemporary – 

I’m currently reading this at the moment. Sophia watches Doctor Who. We’d bond over acquiring a Tardis.

Saving this for when I need it. Loved The Land of Forgotten Girls.

Lastly, an intriguing mystery to explore.

Has anyone read any of the above? Feel free to share thoughts and/or link your TBRs if you’re also participating – will drop by!

*All reading challenge graphics by the amazing Aentee from Read at Midnight (who has Ninefox Gambit on her TBR, so I’m ecstatic for her).

13 thoughts on “#AsianLitBingo TBR – A Reading Challenge for May

    1. Hope so too. The only other book about selkies I’ve read was Sea Hearts/The brides of rollrock island by Margo Lanagan but I’m not as familiar with the the mythology. Thanks!

      Like

  1. Woo, I knew I could count on you to introduce me to some titles I haven’t read/didn’t know about! Alternative Alamat sounds amazing and I definitely want to read it to acquaint myself better with Filipinx mythology, which I basically know nothing about. >o<
    Starfang, Raven Stratagem, Kira-Kira, Seven Tears at High Tide, When Fox is a Thousand, and The Secret Science of Magic were already on my TBR, but the others are going on there now that I know about them. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m always picking up new books from your blog (especially the MGs)! I sadly don’t know much about Philippine mythology other than there are many different myths (often region-specific) due to the different cultures and languages across the Philippines. Damiana L. Eugenio recorded a few in anthologies – she give a glimpse of how varied the folklore is across the islands but the passing down of folklore is usually through oral storytelling.

      There are also multiple Indigenous groups with specific myths that belong to their belief systems. *It’s probably best to refer to ‘Philippine’ mythology as this anthology was published in the Philippines and ‘Filipinx’ has a more diasporic association to it. (As part of the Filipinx diaspora, I often use the Filipinx term but some people who live in the Philippines respect those who use it for inclusivity but don’t identify with it because it seems to encompass more of the diasporic experience.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

