book list · lgbtqia

February Books

2016-6

The blog has been relatively quiet but pages are still being turned offline.

Books read in February –

This is a strong collection of Afro-futuristic stories. Review soon.

Loved this verse novel. This blog should be dedicated to Nafiza’s book recommendations.

Re-read for #DSFFBookClub. Revisiting Lauren’s state of mind alongside her fears and hopes felt just as powerful this time round.

So beautiful. Check out an own voices review.

A favourite quote here.

Need more new adult magical girl stories with diverse casts (f/f relationship & POC). Happy to read more work from Filipinx writers. Thanks Aentee for the rec!

Ken Liu’s writing is always inspiring. My favourites from this collection can be found here.

 

Books reviewed in February –

Loved this look at her work. Feel free to recommend me anything related to Octavia Butler.

It took me a long time to review this one but it’s so important. Also, it’s Face Up To Racism Week in Australia.

 

What I’ve been listening to –

Charles Tan and Kat Mayo on speculative fiction and the importance of oral storytelling in the Philippines. On a related note, an article with so much truth: Blood of the Revolution: On Filipina Writers and Aswang by Angel Cruz. Respect own voices perspectives on mythology.

Thoughts on Philippine literature, history and education from Honey de Peralta and Kat Mayo. Will check out the show notes and the listed books on Martial Law someday too.

 

A bookish lens on March –

I’ve found that taking a relaxed approach to book blogging is helpful as I juggle life. Will try to catch up on the review back log for both local and international titles. Also, it’s Women’s History Month.

10 thoughts on “February Books

  1. I’ve read A Time to Dance and most of the others are on my TBR. I’ve seen so many rave reviews for When the Moon Was Ours that I feel like it should be higher up in my TBR.

    Like

    1. I really liked your review of A Time to Dance! I didn’t expect to read When The Moon Was Ours so soon but the library surprised me. I feel the same way about The Star Touched Queen – I’ve heard great things but it’s still floating on the TBR.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

