Year in Books 2016 – Part 2 – Adult Speculative Fiction & Fantasy

sff

My 2016 favourites list will be in three parts: Part 1 – YA Speculative fiction and fantasy, Part 2 – Adult Speculative fiction and fantasy & Part 3 – Contemporary fiction and Non-fiction. SFF is my favourite genre, so I thought it best to split the list into two parts:

Adult Speculative fiction and fantasy

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth, #1)

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth, #1) by NK Jemisin

I must re-read this fantastic book so I can fan over the world-building, the deft approach to systems of power and the character development again.

31560094

Love Beyond Body, Space and Time: An Indigenous LGBT Scifi Anthology Edited by Hope Nicholson

A great collection of Indigenous LGBTQIA+ SFF stories. Will keep an eye out for more work by the anthology’s writers.

16064625

Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor

This is an intense read but one I appreciated for all the chosen-one subversions and the post-apocalyptic futuristic setting of Sudan.

26196033

The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez

This intersectional black lesbian feminist vampire classic is essential reading for any SFF fan.

21051602

Cold Steel (Spiritwalker, #3) by Kate Elliot

At some point, I will review this Afro-Celtic Post-Roman Icepunk regency trilogy. It’s not own-voices but well-researched. Amazing ending.

26118426

Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee

A multicultural Asian space opera with an intriguing mystery and lesbian + bi/pan rep. from a trans author. I need the sequel.

25986774

Central Station by Lavie Tidhar

 I love how this diasporic speculative story follows different characters and examines memory. I also wouldn’t be surprised if data vampires existed in the future.

11774295

The Shadowed Sun(Dreamblood, #2) by NK Jemisin

The sequel to this duology that draws on Ancient Egyptian mythology and dreamwalking fascinated me.

18490637

My Real Children by Jo Walton

I am always up for a beautifully written parallel worlds/lives story.

26883558

The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle

This 1920s New York Urban Fantasy/Horror Novella that subverts Lovecraftian tropes and deconstructs the Imperialist gaze needs its own screen adaptation.

764647

Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler

After reading Wild Seed, I can see how Butler influenced so many writers. This story about two (semi) immortals and their power struggles will always linger on.

21020588

Kindred by Octavia E. Butler

I really love how Butler contextualises and flips the typical time-travel expectations of meeting one’s ancestors through a character’s uncontrollable drops in a time, which causes her to experience the reality of slavery.

19452425

Bloodchild and Other Stories by Octavia E. Butler

Bloodchild is probably one of my favourite Butler books because I’m just in awe of how she explores ideas around power and assimilation in all of her work but especially in short stories.

Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening

Monstress by Marjorie M. Liu

Stunning steampunk with an intriguing heroine, mystery and a largely matriarchal society set in alternate 1900s Asia.

20625032

Beyond: The Queer Sci-fi & Fantasy Comic Anthology Edited by Sfe R. Monster & Taneka Stotts

I really need to read more comic anthologies. This one is both fantastic and heartwarming.

12 thoughts on “Year in Books 2016 – Part 2 – Adult Speculative Fiction & Fantasy

  1. I really like how you broke these up in chunks! It’s always so hard to pick by age group, especially when I read so much of all three as far as the spec-fic genres go! Monstress was definitely ❤ though.

    Like

    1. I agree completely – it’s so hard – especially when I read all over the place too. Some of my blog readers either lean towards YA or adult lit so I thought I’d make it easier for them today. Though I expect my monthly wrap ups will be back to the usual eclectic mixture. I had to buy Monstress halfway through reading it = deserves all the love.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Eternally grateful for your rec of the Spiritwalker books. You’ll always be leagues ahead in books :D. I read a lot of books from my go-to authors like NK Jemisin, Octavia Butler & Jo Walton this year due to uni stress but happy to share some new awesome books too.

      Like

    1. Agreed. Octavia Butler is seriously amazing. I’m looking forward to Letters to Butler next year which are letters by readers and writers who loved/were inspired by her work. ‘The Book of Martha’ was one of my favourite stories in Bloodchild. Jo Walton is wonderful too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

