book list · own voices

November Wrap-Up feat. #DiversityDecBingo & #readthemargin

dec

I still have a long way to go in terms of blogging about the own voices books I’ve read over the past few years. Though I’ve come to appreciate how much we need these stories for escape, reflection, empathy and/or change in a world which sometimes, wants to rival a post-apocalyptic novel. Revisiting thoughts from writers like Octavia E. Butler and Ursula K le Guin draws power into perspective.

Any human power can be resisted and changed by human beings. Resistance and change often begin in art. Very often in our art, the art of words.

Ursula K Le Guin’s speech at National Book Awards: ‘Books aren’t just commodities’

Books reviewed in November:

Books also read in November:

Will share thoughts on the above soon and for those who missed the birthday book haul: see parts 1, 2 & 3.

Some stories are especially relevant, given that #DiversityDecBingo is a book challenge for anyone who wants to participate in December:

My TBR is constantly shifting, so I have multiple options for a few cards:

dectbr

POC superheroes

Diverse non-fiction

Own Voices (Just realised both are Aussie!)

SFF w/LGBTQUIA+ Main Character

Neurodiversity

Much of my TBR also overlaps with #readthemargin. I’m not sure how much I will finish reading in December due to writing deadlines but I’m still looking forward to the challenge.

Pop Culture Asides:

  • I have watched all of Jane the Virgin Season 2, Stranger Things (converted fan), the Gilmore Girls Revival and Fantastic Beasts. I’m also up to date with Yuri on Ice. Why did I start an anime? Thanks to Jenna & Aentee, I now have the OST on loop:
  • I’m still not committed to any Kdramas at the moment but I liked the pilot for Weightlifting Fairy.
  • A part of me is sad that 2ne1 has officially disbanded but my Kpop playlist will always be on fire.
  • I still find hand-writing stories or poems to be more freeing for first drafts. The lack of the backspace button and the internet allows me to focus more. Though I do like re-typing and expanding upon writing later on.
4 thoughts on “November Wrap-Up feat. #DiversityDecBingo & #readthemargin

    1. Thanks for the rec Yasmin! My friends love Ms Marvel, so I definitely need to read it soon. I requested a copy for my library but my local comics book store is having a sale so I’m weighing my xmas purchase options. I might read it for Read at Midnight’s Dumbledore’s Army Readathon in January if I don’t get to it this month =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

