book list

Mid-August: Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon TBR

ReadThemAllThon

Created and hosted by Aentee. The read-a-thon will run for 3 weeks between Sunday 14th August to Sunday 4th September.

Since I’ll be attending classes again, I’m not power hungry for CP points but will aim for the glittering reading badges. Many of my TBR books qualify for 2 badges, so I’ll probably only read 4 instead of 8 books as the semester becomes busy. I’ve also listed a few shorter reading options to choose from under the badges.

Chosen Pokemon: Oddish!

Oddish_(Pokémon)

ReadThemAllThon-Badge01-Boulder

29234637

Since I’ll be dropping by the author talk on Pakistani mythology before class (and hopefully, make it back in time for class) –  Fire Boy – Book 1 of the Djinn Son Duology by Sami Shah is my first option. Alternatively, I could read The Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu as I’ve enjoyed a novella set in the same SF universe.

ReadThemAllThon-Badge02-Cascader

17237030

A Tale For The Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. Hopefully, I can handle a longer read this time. I started Ozeki last year but library reservations caught up with me, so I bought a copy to finish on my own time. For an alternate shorter book, I might read Ghostheart by Ananda-Braxton Smith instead as I loved Smith’s previous stories.

ReadThemAllThon-Badge03-Thunder

20882949

Authority by Jeff Vandermeer.

ReadThemAllThon-Badge04-Rainbow

17797456

Options: Shadowplay by Laura Lam (I liked the first book – Pantomime),  The Best of all Possible Worlds by Karen Lord or The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson.

ReadThemAllThon-Badge05-Soul15704307

Options: Saga by Brian K Vaughn, A Tangle of Gold by Jaclyn Moriarty, Aftermath by Ann Aguirre or A Taste of Blood Wine by Freda Warrington. I don’t really own much romance to read but relationships seem central to these books.

ReadThemAllThon-Badge06-MarshThe Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace, #1)

Options: The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow or The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen or Vigil by Angela Slatter if I haven’t already finished reading it.

ReadThemAllThon-Badge07-Flame

21020588

Options: Kindred by Octavia Butler, The Rook by Daniel O’Malley, The Girl in the Flammable Skirt by Aimee Bender, Summer Was A Fast Train Without Terminals by Merlinda Bobis or Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta if I still haven’t finished that behemoth.

ReadThemAllThon-Badge08-Earth60929

Dawn by Octavia E. Butler

It’s high time I start this series.

 

*Since my TBR likes to shape-shift & won’t reveal it’s final form, I’ll calculate CP points at the end.

5 thoughts on “Mid-August: Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon TBR

  1. Aah! I was really looking forward to reading this post and seeing a little more of this challenge, after you were talking about it, and it’s so cute! And seems so fun! And that rainbow badge is basically necessary in every way and shape and pretty form. It’s gorgeous. YOU’VE GOTTA WIN THEM ALL, GLAIZA. Just so I can cheer you on and oggle them all *laughs* I can definitely see why you’re keen on winning the badges, rather than getting all the CP, because badges. Badges are excellence and these ones are grand.

    Oddish! SO CUTE. I’m so keen to hear your thoughts on Shadow Play and The Raven Boys (both of which I hope to pick up soon). Going into such a hyped series is always a little daunting, especially with this one that is beloved by the community (although I’m glad it’s all published so no cliffhangery waiting times), and I’ve heard that Shadow Play isn’t as good as Pantomime? So I’m hoping I still love it. And that you do, too! xx

    Like

  2. Some awesome choices! I’m in the middle of reading Saga right now and it’s goood! Also yay for #CanLit with The Scorpion Rules! I’ll be reading that one and Swan Riders over the next 2 months! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

