book list

Pokemon Go Book Tag

Pokemon-Go-Book-Tag

Thanks to Aentee for creating the tag & wonderful graphics and Naz for convincing me to create a list!

Pokemon-Tag-01Starters

The Golden Book of Fairytales collection. I still have these illustrated versions of classic fairytales:

bonhwzqccaaw5md

Pokemon-Tag02Pikachu

Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Yen Mah. I’ll always hold this memoir about a girl who finds solace in writing close to my heart. (Older followers of the blog will recognise this one from my previous book lists.)

25963195

Pokemon-Tag-03-Zubat

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. I’d probably read Geisha, a Life by Mineko Iwasaki instead as it is drawn from her life experience.

Ash by Malinda Lo. For me, Cinderella was always the most relatable of the fairytale heroines but I do really enjoy retellings that tackle and re-imagine the problematic elements of a tale. I admire Ash’s quiet fortitude and love that she is bi in this version.

6363322

This is definitely a competition between The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson, Dhalgren by Samuel R Delany and The Crown of Stars series by Kate Elliott.

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay kept me up in the best way possible.

18813642

*I’m amending this one to Nidoking/Nidoking: Ari & Dante, always.

12000020

Pokemon-Tag08-Rapidash

A History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz. Unreliable narrators might just turn me into a Rapidash reader.

17831753

Pokemon-Tag09-Eevee

The Dreamblood series by NK Jemisin. I could say this for every universe Jemisin writes. I’m just curious to see how the city-state has changed in the future.

11774272

Pokemon-Tag14-Magikarp

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. The casual sexism in the environment Oscar grows up in almost put me off reading it but when I listened to Lin Manuel Miranda narrate the audiobook, Oscar’s honest, raw and flawed voice came alive.

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

Pokemon-Tag12-Legendary

Legend by Marie Lu. I’ve read the first book. Still need to read the rest.

Pokemon-Tag15Mew-MewTwo

I need this collector’s edition of the Earthseed books by Octavia E Butler in my life. On the Birthday book list:

Pokemon-Tag10-Egg

I need to read more contemporary fiction and Enter Title Here sounds intriguing.

22060619

Pokemon-Tag11-Lure-Module

Too many: Nnedi Okorafor, Ursula K le Guin, NK Jemisin, Catherynne Valente, Aliette de Bodard, Octavia E Butler and Patricia Mckillip.

Pokemon-Tag13-Server-Down

Everfair by Nisi Shawl. I’ve been reading some amazing alternate historical SFF novels & novellas lately. I am really excited for this neo-Victorian novel, which re-imagines colonial history by introducing a safe haven/utopia from imperialism during this period.

26114130

4 thoughts on “Pokemon Go Book Tag

  1. Aah, what a cute tag! This is way more nostalgic for me than your recent Sailor Moon tag, since I throughly grew up with Pokemon and aah, I do love it so much. The influx of Pokemon Go to Instagram and now blogs is a little bewildering, since I don’t (yet, and I think this is a very much *yet* situation) play it, but it seems bewildering in an amusing-excellent way. Reliving things we loved as children, never stopped loving as adults, or are discovering for the first time is so great, so that makes me happy.

    It’s so interesting, too, to find out about new books through reading your tags! I always really enjoy that aspect of it. I read Chinese Cinderella as a child and was so utterly captivated and heartbroken by the story, and I actually bought a copy last year- but it was a bunch of short stories she’d written? So I had to go back and get the actual book. I definitely need to attend to reading both of them soon, and I’m pretty excited to reread and relive how much I admired Yen Mah’s story. I also particularly love the collection of illustrated fairytales you’ve had since you were a child. I look at my own bookshelf with such fondness when I see the favourite books from when I was little, and there are these tales of princesses and fairytales that I remember vividly reading again and again, utterly besotted, and it’s the art, these days, that takes me back more than the stories themselves. I so love the fact that I still have them!

    Beast sounds so good! I’m excited for it to come out and hope we all enjoy it so much!
    xx

    Like

    1. Truth be told, my mobile is incompatible with the Pokemon Go app, so I’m actually locked out of reliving my childhood ;_;. Though I was happy to revisit Pokemon through books at least. I read a lot but don’t review as much in comparison, so book lists can be useful. Chinese Cinderella is lovely. Maybe the stories collection was the Dragon society edition? I was also spellbound by the art (and the dresses) of my old fairytale books. The actual tales were a little strange & sad at times (especially the little mermaid.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

