Rat Queens Deluxe Edition Volume 1

Rat Queens Deluxe Edition Volume 1

Who are the Rat Queens? A pack of booze-guzzling, death-dealing battle maidens-for-hire, and they’re in the business of killing all god’s creatures for profit. It’s also a darkly comedic sass-and-sorcery series starring Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Smidgen Thief. This modern spin on an old school genre is a violent monster-killing epic that is like Buffy meets Tank Girl in a Lord of the Rings world on crack!

This deluxe hardcover edition combines the first two volumes of the New York Times bestselling series. It includes the never-before reprinted RAT QUEENS SPECIAL: BRAGA #1, and plenty of extras all in an over-sized hardcover with a SILVER-FOIL stamped cover!

Rat Queens Deluxe Edition Volume 1 by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Illustrated by Stjepan Šejić & Roc Upchurch

Genre: Fantasy

Medium: Graphic novel

Published: December 2015 by Image Comics

Acquired: ARC via Netgalley

Quick Thoughts:

I stumbled across the second issue of this comic a few months ago and I was quickly sucked into this world. Even though I’d only met these characters halfway in their journey,  I was completely charmed by their collective badarsery and ability to admire an enemy’s witty comeback in the middle of a battle. While I was reading this edition, I found myself pulled in again by the eclectic rat queens crew’s drama in and out of missions.

I was happy to jump into the deluxe edition of the first volume which compiles the first two issues together. The change in art styles is noticeable but I quickly adjusted to it. I loved being able to follow this story again. For thoughts on individual characters, see my previous non-spoilery review of issue 2, which is also included in this edition.

Deluxe edition extras:

  • On the inclusion of cover art for different issues – Someday, my inner cosplayer shall be coaxed out by the art.
  • On Gary’s short side story – He must be cursed with that name.
  • On Braga’s side story – I appreciate her backstory so much. Finally, someone’s delving into the inner conflicts of orc society.
  • On the Rat Queens’ Courting Guides – I’m with Dee on passing blind dates. I loved Betty’s hyper yet wise monologue on the whole ordeal.
4 thoughts on “Rat Queens Deluxe Edition Volume 1

  1. I’m so excited to read this series – my secret sister got me a copy of the first volume and the art looks so good! (Although I know the controversy with the first artist and that the art changes, but I’m assuming it will still be really good)

    Like

  2. OOh, I don’t believe I knew this was a thing. I wish I’d known this was a thing, although I don’t actually own these comics yet and I must, of course, so MAYBE I CAN BUY MYSELF THIS. That would be a really excellent plan, since it seems like it has a whole lot of extras that I clearly would need in my life, whilst I wait for the third volume. How are we gonna make it for another month, Glaiza? HOW? (Probably with copious other books that we’re going to be waiting on tenterhooks for, but eh.) Yay for us both being up to date with this, though!

    Like

    1. Serialized works are always the hardest ones to wait for! Maybe that’s why I haven’t started other graphic novel series yet (apart from The Wicked + the Divine which I need to review for netgalley at some point. Now that series has cliffhangers.) Though I’ll definitely pick up either Nimona or LumberJanes in May.

      Like

Leave a Reply

