Reflecting on creativity

 

Even though Constance Wu is discussing acting in these quotes, her words resonated with me. I’ve always been a process oriented person. I’ve found Nanowrimo to be helpful in that it allows me to have an end point goal in mind. It also creates a free space for me to try pretty much everything. On the other hand, it’s also made me realise how much I appreciate the gradual building of a story; a slower process that clashes with the heady race of November. (Speaking of November, I feel like re-reading The Scorpio Races, an atmospheric book, which moves at its own pace.)

Sometimes taking time is actually a shortcut.”
Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

I might be more inclined to be a slower writer but I’m not adverse to participating in a challenge like Nanowrimo. Rather than compare the wordcount goals of others, my chief aim has always been to explore a story. I might not race ahead but I’ll take the marathon approach.

Of course it was painful, and there were times when, emotionally, I just wanted to chuck it all. But pain seems to be a precondition for this kind of sport. If pain weren’t involved, who in the world would ever go to the trouble of taking part in sports like the triathlon or the marathon, which demand such an investment of time and energy? It’s precisely because of the pain, precisely because we want to overcome that pain, that we can get the feeling, through this process, of really being alive–or at least a partial sense of it. Your quality of experience is based not on standards such as time or ranking, but on finally awakening to an awareness of the fluidity within action itself.
Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

As always, I’m looking forward to the long run.

4 thoughts on “Reflecting on creativity

  1. Aw, Glaiza, I don’t know why but this post really warmed my heart! First, I love Constance Wu (but you already knew that, heheh) and I completely, completely love what she says about creating meaning. I think people get really caught up in being results-orientated, especially after university where people feel that they are surrounded by success and materialistic gains (at least here anyway). Sometimes it’s good to take a step back and ask yourself what is meaningful to you.

    And since we seem to share videos with each other, I want to share this with you – somewhat similar, but not entirely: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U88jj6PSD7w

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for sharing both videos CW <3! I agree, I like reflecting back on the stuff that centres or anchors a person. I enjoyed the 2nd video too – it can be difficult to pinpoint what leads to satisfaction and I completely agree that we are often confused about what we want.

      Like

  2. Ooh, this is so interesting. When I read those first quotes I was really struck, because for me I’ve tended towards being goal orientated, rather than process. I work towards things, rather than focusing on the work itself, which I suppose is something I should really take note of and work out whether it’s the best option. Like, does it make my work suffer, because I have that goal? Because I don’t know that I could say it does. I’m encouraged to work better and have something to work towards in a way that I might not be, if I was just doing it to do it. I think I need to have a reason and a goal, a factor that keeps me going. Otherwise I’d just as likely stop.

    I’m happy to hear NaNo has been going fairly well and is proving to be interesting for you! That’s great! And it’s really wonderful that it’s helped you realise how you best like to work, what way your own writing best comes forth. xx

    Like

    1. Thanks Romi! I am definitely goal oriented too but I’ve come to realise that I need to take equal value from the process in order to avoid burning out and appreciate what I achieve in the end.

      Like

Leave a Reply

