book list

Read This? Watch This!

If You’ve Read: Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami

 Haibane Renmei

I recommend the anime: Haibane Renmei

This book actually influenced the anime in some ways. Both are quite dream-like evocative stories about characters who wake up in a walled town without memories of their lives beforehand. Highly recommended.

If You’ve Read: The Storified Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry R.O.D the TV

I recommend the anime: R.O.D the TV series

I love how both of these stories are about building unusual families and unexpected friendships. Bonds between very different bibliophiles are so fun to explore.

If You’ve Read: The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

The Darkest Part of the Forest Hataraku Maou-sama!

I recommend the animeThe Devil is a Part-timer!

I enjoy clashes between the human and the supernatural in these contrasting stories about fairytale creatures who enter our reality:

In ‘The Darkest Part of the Forest,’ Hazel dreams of becoming a knight who can hunt monsters between the human and the fae worlds.

In ‘The Devil is a Part-timer,’ a demon king is hunted by a female knight after he crosses over into the human world.

If You’ve Read: White Cat by Holly Black

White Cat (Curse Workers, #1) Fruits Basket

I recommend the anime: Fruits Basket

I love stories about curses and families. Both have stories with conflicted characters and complex families.

If You’ve Read: Mistborn by Bandon Sanderson

The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1) Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

I recommend the anime: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood

Both stories explore intense worlds with layered political groups, complex histories and compelling characters. Both worlds have unique magical systems with strict laws and protagonists who are gifted with certain abilities.

*Thanks to Aentee of Read at Midnight for requesting this list!*

Note: This post was drafted while I was watching Full Metal Alchemist Brotherhood. Feel free to recommend an anime or a book below!

10 thoughts on “Read This? Watch This!

  1. I’ve yet to watch/read Fruits Basket, but that anime has given my friend such a backward ‘NICE PERSON’ complex.

    And oh my gosh, you’re the only other person I know that has watched The Devil is a Part-Timer! That anime made me laugh so hard. “KATSU DOOOOM”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tohru from Fruits Basket does have a very strong inclination towards kindness, so maybe she inspired it? It is my favourite manga. The art style develops as the series goes on. The anime is fun but only covers the first 7 volumes of the manga in terms of plot.

      My brother recommended The Devil is a Part-timer! I giggled so much too. I need to check out the manga.

      Like

      1. WEIRD I had a look at my previous response, and part of my comment about Fruits Basket cut off! I must not have copied and pasted the comment properly when my browser died. Sorry if it came off terse!

        Yes, I think so! And what I was going to say was that I think she emulated one of the characters too much – her virtue of kindness became quite detrimental, esp when people started taking advantage of her. Still, I want to read it. Like FMA, it’s one of those ‘must read/watch’ things!

        Right?? I wished it was longer. It was such a fun, light anime. c:

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I agree that taking Tohru’s openness too far can lead to being taken advantage of; Tohru’s friend Momiji actually tells a folktale in the story which mirrors what happens when manipulative people pick up on that trait. It’s frustrating when that happens in life, so I hope your friend receives much love and support.

        Ditto needing more clever, light fun anime in life too!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh I see! Hm, that is interesting, and unfortunately it has happened. I’ve been been trying to dispel the idea that self-care is being ‘not nice’. It’s that, ‘don’t set yourself on fire to keep yourself warm’ sort of thing. She is much better now, thankfully! 🙂

        On topic of clever light anime, have you seen Barakamon? That anime is super sweet – definitely one of my favourites!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel a teeny bit bad now, Glaiza, because I recommended you FMA and then I STOPPED WATCHING IT. The creepy kept getting to me and I just couldn’t go on. But you seem to be enjoying it, so I guess that’s a win! I think I got up to episode… 12 or 13. Early on it was really amazing, though, and the voice actors! Vic Mignogna is my favourite of favourites.

    So excited to try some of these novels and anime- I love the link between The Darkest Part of the Forest and the anime you linked it with. That is so fascinating and I want to devour both on your descriptions alone. And White Cat is already on my tbr, but if it weren’t just the fact you linked it with FB would have be there.
    This is such a fantastic idea for a post! Go you! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Romi! Quite a few friends have recommended FMA, so I thought it was the right time to give it a try again. It does have tragic elements but I need to know what happens in the end, ha. I’m really enjoying the English Dub too!

      Like

  3. Oh my goodness how did I miss the notification for this post!! I only saw it just now!! I love your recs, having Murakami, Fruits Basket and FMA: Brotherhood all on the same list pretty much guarantees your awesome status. Have you read the Fruits Basket manga? I thought it was emotionally so much more weighty and well done! I love that Tohru is pretty much a straight up Sue in the beginning but develops so much!! I also adore Holly Black’s Curse Worker series, very complex relationship and clever worldbuilding!
    Sorry this comment is a bit of a mess I’m doing it via mobile phone as I love you THAT much haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! My notifications can spazz out too. I used to re-read my favourite Fruits Basket volumes over and over again – I’m overdue for an epic re-read. As a teen, I was so excited whenever a new volume was published. I also had serious doubts about Tohru’s character but I agree, she does grow so much. I understand and relate to her better now. Thank you for dropping by (and sharing the list that inspired this post 😉 !)

      Like

Leave a Reply

