book list · top ten tuesday

The Bookish lmpulse

Source: The Broke and Bookish. I tend to auto-buy books from:

Catherynne M. Valente

I have been in love with her writing ever since I found myself In the Night Garden. My pre-order: Speak Easy – a retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses in a novella. Later in the year, I’ll be haunting book shops for Radiance:

Radiance

Nnedi Okorafor

I read a chapter from Lagoon and found myself entranced by her writing. I’ll be leaving Oz to explore New York’s bookshops soon – so I’m excited to pick up the following books: The Book of Phoenix (her new book) and Akata Witch.

The Book of Phoenix (Who Fears Death, #0.1)

Laini Taylor

Lips Touch Three Times is so beautiful and dark. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy is also my new favourite epic YA fantasy. I am just in love with her writing.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #3)

Rochita Loenen-Ruiz

I grew up loving SFF but I craved speculative worlds and stories with Filipino protagonists. In my late teens, I started looking for Filipino SFF and found Song of the Body Cartographer by Ruiz. I’ve been collecting anthologies which include her work ever since that fantastic mythic short story.

Alternative Alamat: Stories Inspired by Philippine Mythology

Aliette de Bodard

I fell in love with her Xuya universe when I read On a Red Station, Drifting. It was the first time I had ever stepped into a Vietnamese and Chinese influenced science-fictional universe. On a fantastical note, I’m picking up her Parisian apocalyptic fantasy – The House of Shattered Wings – next week. I am so excited.

The House of Shattered Wings

Haruki Murakami

Norwegian Wood and Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World are some of my favourites. I haven’t bought his new releases yet because I’m still making my way through the ones I have.

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Patricia A. Mckillip

Ombria in Shadow and In The Forests of Serre are my absolute favourites. I just love how Mckillip weaves fairytale elements in this beautiful mythic way. Ombria in Shadow has recently been reprinted (yay!) Wonders of the Invisible World is on the TBR:

Wonders of the Invisible World

Octavia E. Butler

I loved The Parable of the Sower but I live in Australia, so I’ve encountered a bit of difficulty in locating her extraordinary science fiction books. Therefore, I’m hoping to pick up a few more when I visit New York.

Kindred

Ann Aguirre

I am addicted to her space operatic series of books which follows Sirantha Jax, a tough space jumper. Someone please adapt this into a tv show. My BSG heart would be eternally grateful.

Grimspace (Sirantha Jax, #1)

N.K. Jemisin

I love creative world-building, mythology, diversity and epic fantasy stories. Therefore, Jemisin’s books and I just click. I have only read the Inheritance trilogy but I need to pick up The Fifth Season.

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth, #1)

9 thoughts on “The Bookish lmpulse

    1. Thanks Alicia! I loved The Girl Who Circumnavigated a Fairyship of Her Own Making. This year, I read it for the first time ,so I’m a bit behind in reading the sequels but my reading delay works out because then I avoid the waiting periods for sequels? *Book lover logic.* Ditto The Fifth Season.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. IS IT SAD I’VE READ NONE OF THESE? :’O

    Because all of a sudden I have a lot of books to add to my TBR and devour asap, because they sounds fabulous 😄 I’ve been wanting to read Laini Taylor for aaaaages, but I think this is incentive enough to try something of hers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes, it’s a good feeling to read something after the large crests of hype have died down a bit too. I have so many amazing authors on my to-read list too! I definitely recommend Laini Taylor’s work.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aah, Catherynne M. Valente. I think you and I worship her, Glaiza. We seem to, at least, and you know I’d never really met another blogger who was passionate about her work before you! I’ve only read the Fairyland books, so far, but her writing is just so… unique. I’ve never read anyone else who writes like that and captivates me like she does, and her adult work is just waiting for me to dive into. It’s so exciting, knowing how much wonderment I still have ahead. Especially since you keep on showing me!

    I’ve read very few of the other authors here, but love how wide a range you’ve featured. I always hear about new writers from your glorious blog and I love that so very much. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love books with unique voices. I completely agree that I haven’t read anything quite like Valente’s work before. When I become a fan of an author, I tend to read (and re-read) a lot of their work. I also like to read according to my mood; which can lead to eclectic paths (especially when I’m in an adult scifi mood.) I really love how your blog also features a wide range too. It inspired me to return to manga and more YA fantasy – the warm, good stuff!

      Like

Leave a Reply

