Ten Fairytale Retellings I Want To Read

I have a bookshelf dedicated to exploring stories with fairy/folktale twists but today, I’m sharing my TBR:

Half World (Half World, #1)

Half World by Hiromi Goto

My friend really enjoyed this one and I love tales about entering another world.

Tam Lin

Tam Lin by Pamela Dean

I tried to read this last year but hopefully, I’ll give it another try because I’m curious about stories that follow heroines in their college years into fantasy worlds. Honourable mentions: Tam Lin retellings I’ve enjoyed include Winter Rose by Patricia Mckillip. Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones is also on my TBR.

Spindle's End

Spindle’s End by Robin Mckinley

Sleeping Beauty is actually one of my least favourite fairytales but I love Mckinley’s writing so I have a copy of this one to read. Honourable mentions: A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan is on my TBR for a YA scifi take on the tale.

Guardian of the Dead

Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey

I want to read more stories with Maori mythology and I also have copy to finish at some point.

The Chaos

The Chaos by Nalo Hopkinson

I loved Falling in Hominids by Nalo Hopkinson (review up soon) so I’m eager to read this story which weaves in Caribbean folklore too.

The Goddess Chronicle

The Goddess Chronicle by Natsuo Kirino

I’ve only read one of Kirino’s quietly compelling mystery/thrillers (Real World) but I really want to read how she weaves Japanese mythology in this one.

Serpentine

Serpentine by Cindy Pon

I liked Silver Phoenix so I’m excited to pick up this one later in the year.

Damascus Nights

Damascus Nights by Rafik Schami

I love Arabian nights structured stories. A friend recommended this one to me too. Honourable mentions: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh is on my TBR. I also loved In The Night Garden by Catherynne M Valente which uses the story within a story structure of the Arabian nights.

Keturah and Lord Death

Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt

Friends have loved this story so I have copy somewhere in my room. Honourable mentions: The Russian folktale is tackled and re-imagined in Deathless by Catherynne M Valente.

*I really want to read more retellings of Filipino folklore (the supernatural creatures in the horror films used to scare me as a kid) but I thought I’d save that post for the future.

14 thoughts on “Ten Fairytale Retellings I Want To Read

    1. No problem! I haven’t forgotten the mythopoeic list of books to share too but it was a longer list than I expected so it’s still in draft mode. Perhaps, I’ll divide it into a few posts for the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love all the lesser known tales on this list. I’ve only read one of Natsuo Kirino’s work, but I am so excited to hear she has a Japanese mythology based book released. I’m also looking forward to the release of Serpentine – I’ve always been interested in the White Snake/Green Snake legend. Guardian of the Dead was quite good IIRC, it features an asexual character as well, not often seen in YA – let alone YA fantasy. Will definitely check out your GR list as well 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love fairytale retellings as well. I think you might like The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter –the prose is absolutely beautiful. It can get a bit dark and grotesque, sort of like a lot of fairytales in the original.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read ‘A Company of Wolves’ by Angela Carter for a class and liked it so much that I bought ‘Burning Your Boats’ – but I haven’t gotten round to The Blood Chamber section in it which sounds fantastic from your recommendation.

      Have you read Kelly Link’s short stories? She has a different style from Angela Carter but I loved her retelling of the snow queen in ‘Travels with the Snow Queen’ which can be found in ‘Stranger Things Happen.’ It really digs deep into the underlying bits of the fairytale and explores it in a realistic way. So beautifully written.

      Like

  3. I only recently found out about it too! Sneaky new books indeed. My library has A Long, Long Sleep and I love the idea of a scifi retelling of the story so I’ll definitely check it out!

    Like

    1. Oh yay! I really enjoyed it (interested, also, to see what I think of it later into my blogging career) and hope you’ll let me know your thoughts? OH. Forgot to say today: I finished and loved Silver Metal Lover, although you saw this briefly on Goodreads. But it was so good! So interesting + enjoyable, and thank you so much for rec’ing me it! I’ll definitely be writing a review of that one. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

