Book Wrap-up: Read or Reviewed in June & July

Time Salvager Wolf Tower (Claidi Journals, #1) The Astrologer's Daughter The Simple Act of Reading Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

June Roundup Above – Click images for links.

The Darkest Part of the Forest A Bride's Story, Vol. 1 Love and Romanpunk Just Kids Four Ways to Forgiveness

July Roundup Above & Below – Click images for links.

Thanks to Romi for recommending the Bride’s Story manga. A beautifully told and drawn historical slice of life manga. For sequels: Heaven’s Queen was a satisfying end to a fun space operatic series. For memoirs: Just Kids by Patti Smith was amazing too. (Thanks to Katya for placing it on my radar). Recommended to artists, musicians and writers.

The Very Best of Kate Elliott The Coldest Girl in Coldtown Heaven's Queen (Paradox, #3) R.O.D. Read or Dream 1 (R.O.D. Read or Dream, #1) Talk Under Water

Pop Culture Consumption:

luna-wand

I am currently watching Sailor Moon Crystal for the first time. Why is Luna so adorable in this version? I loved the over-the-top feel of the original anime adaptation, so watching the remake tugs out the good childhood memories. Note: the animation style, tone and storytelling approach in the Crystal version is quite different from the original anime adaptation. Although I’m loving the balance between the more well rounded characterisation of the sailor scouts and the slice of life elements in the Crystal one.

2 thoughts on “Book Wrap-up: Read or Reviewed in June & July

  1. A Bride’s Story!!! I don’t think I asked before, but are you planning on continuing with the series? I am still a little disgruntled that after the second volume it doesn’t focus on Amir, but… those other storylines, and moments of darting back to her, are really rather beautiful. Just I love her and that particular group of people so much!

    Sailors Moon. I grew up watching TMNT and… Winx Club on morning TV, oh and Digimon and Pokemon, of course, animated show wise, but Sailor Moon has been on my radar for quite some time. I don’t think my library had a copy of any of it, though, which means I’d have to buy it and WHAT IF I DON’T LIKE IT. Even though it looks amazing, sounds amazing, and has a very cute looking cat.

    I’m reading Silver Metal Lover at the moment, too, by the by. Started it yesterday and it’s kind of addictive. I didn’t think it would be as big as it seems to be, but it reads so quickly. I’ll let you know how it progresses, although I really am enjoying the writing style. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am definitely going to read the rest of A Bride’s Story! I plan to pick up the sequels after I get through my ARCs. (The scifi stories usually take me a bit longer to read and process but I seem to be in a scifi mood at the moment, ha)

    I watched Digimon, Pokemon and Sailor Moon with such fierce love as a kid too! I’m really into the new Sailor Moon. (This version follows the story in the manga more closely – so it’s like how the first Full Metal Alchemist adaptation did it’s own thing whereas the remake followed the manga.) I’ll share a non-spoilery recap of the anime when I’m done for comparison. ^^

    Ahhhh I’m so glad you’re reading The Silver Metal Lover!

    Like

Leave a Reply

