book list · fantasy · young adult

Last Ten Books That Appeared On My Doorstep

Talk Under Water Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda All Over Creation The Book of Speculation The Gate to Women's Country

Dawn (Xenogenesis, #1) Authority (Southern Reach Trilogy, #2) Cold Steel (Spiritwalker, #3) The Shattered City (Creature Court, #2) The Silver Metal Lover (Silver Metal Lover, #1)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

Young Adult:

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becki Albertalli

(Aussie Contemporary LGBTQ. Received via Giveaway. Thank you, Romi.)

Talk Under Water by Kathryn Lomer

(Aussie Contemporary. ARC for review. Thank you, University of Queensland Press.)

The Silver Metal Lover by Tanith Lee

(YA Scifi. For my growing classic Tanith Lee collection.)

Stand-alone/First book in a series:

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler

(Magical Realism. Received via Giveaway. Thank you, Allen and Unwin.)

All Over Creation by Ruth Ozeki

(Since I’m reading and loving A Tale For The Time Being.)

The Gate to Women’s Country by Sherri S. Tepper

(Classic female SFF)

Dawn (Book 1 of Exogenesis series) by Octavia E. Butler

(Classic female SFF)

Sequels:

The Shattered City by Tansy Rayner Roberts

(Book 2 in the Creature Court Trilogy – SFF)

Authority by Jeff VanderMeer

(Book 2 in the Southern Reach Trilogy – SFF)

Cold Steel by Kate Elliott

(Book 3 in the Spirit Walker Trilogy – SFF – I have all the books now! Will marathon read.)

7 thoughts on “Last Ten Books That Appeared On My Doorstep

  1. I am also interested in doing a read of the Spirit Walker trilogy one day, would love to hear your thoughts first hee! Simon and the Homo Sapien Agenda looks excellent, lucky you for the win!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked the first book in the Spirit Walker trilogy (Cold Magic) but haven’t reviewed it. Although I do have some thoughts to share =)

      I’ve been on Goodreads for years but since I had time this year, I decided to review and blog more. Books for review often come first on the blog but I definitely try to squeeze in a post about the books I read just for fun.

      Like

  2. I STILL have never read The Silver Metal Lover! Which is weird, because I’m pretty sure it’s her most famous work. I need to remedy this – I want it to be my next Tanith Lee read (despite the fact that I own some of her other books but not this one) because…well, it seems like an important one to read. And I really want to get my hands on Kate Elliot’s Spirit Walker books too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I know how it feels. That sense of having read an author’s work except the one they are most well known for. Off the top of my head, I’d probably go with Diana Wynne Jones (I’ve read and loved the Chrestomanci books but not Howl’s Moving Castle despite my love for the film adaptation.)

      I really love the worldbuilding in Kate Elliot’s Spirit Walker Trilogy. I am now convinced that I need to share my thoughts at some point.

      Like

  3. So glad Simon arrived safely, Glaiza, and I hope you loveeeeeee it endlessly. Or at least really enjoy it! It’s totally adorable and I do so love the cover. Oh, and I got Talk Under Water, too, and apparently it’s set in my homestate, so I’m interested to see how it’s pictured and all that. Possibly it means I’ll be very critical, but we’ll see. Here’s hoping we both enjoy it!

    Oh, and noting your above comment- I just finished The Lives of Christopher Chant, which is officially my favourite Chrestomanci book (although I swoon for older Chrestomanci). So good. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

