Books Read in May 2015

 17333324Rat Queens, Vol. 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N'rygothThe Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Fairyland, #1)Wintergirls22928964OdoriA Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)The Art of Asking; or, How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Let People Help

Speculative Worlds:
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie.
Breq’s shifting and split perspectives fascinated me from a writing perspective. I could see this split POV working well in an anime adaptation too. (Breq also reminded me of another compelling androgynous AI – Motoko Kusanagi from Ghost in the Shell.) I loved the diverse cultural aspects of the worldbuilding, the gendered pronoun subversions and the complex politics in Ancillary Justice. It’s also worth noting that empires in any universe can be downright chilling.
– Hannu Rajaniemi: Collected Fiction – Reviewed.
Fae Worlds:

I want to live in this universe. I really love September’s journey. I need the sequels. Creative coming of age children’s/YA fantasy stories are my favourites. Will write up a review in the future.
A touch of the mythic world:
– Odori by Darcy Tamayose – Reviewed.
– Rat Queens Vol. 2 Kurtis J. Wiebe – Reviewed.
Reflecting on the world:
Wintergirls by Laure Halse Anderson
This brilliant book suckerpunched me. Wintergirls made me realise that I need to read more contemporary YA books.
The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer
Recommended to anyone who does creative work. I especially liked the bit about how creative people need time to collect before connecting with others.
5 thoughts on “Books Read in May 2015

  1. Great round-up here! You’ve enticed me to have a look at A Crown of Thorns and Roses. The cover doesn’t call my name, if you know what I mean, but the fact that you’ve shelved it with Marillier and McKillip is an awesome recommendation. To the TBR list it goes! Thanks, Glaiza. (And I couldn’t find The Girl who C…. in any local bookshops last week, so I’ve had to order it.)

    Like

    1. Yay! I understand about the cover dilemmas. (Quite a few books on my TBR are on the to-order list too. I hope Fairyland arrives safely and on time. It’s always fun unwrapping a book parcel.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, I didn’t know Amanda Palmer had written a book. I’d classify myself as a creative person, so I’m absolutely going to check it out! I watched her TedX talk and it was just… incredible. She really inspires me to be the best I can be, I suppose.
    And Fairyland! I’m so thrilled to see you read that, Glaiza! It’s one of my all time favourite series’ and I am so terribly sad that the final book is on it’s way. It’s one of those stories that feels like you’re heading home when you read it, and when it’s over I’m sure i’ll be rather emotional, even if I can revisit that incredible world anytime. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is an interesting bunch of books with a lovely mix of genre. I recently purchassed Ancillary Justice and I’m excited to start on it. I heard that it had a different view on genders to what we normally see.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

