Bookmarked

I could have left this day unmarked but for the book blog anniversary, I thought I’d share a few words from one of my favourite storytellers:

The Melancholy of Mechagirl by Catherynne M. Valente

She will see the cherry blossoms bloom and think that, yes, somehow they are different here, even if it is only the weight of so many stories blowing the branches a little.

I have tried to err on the side of love. That is a phrase I would not mind inking on my skin, above my door, upon my grave.

– Afterword, The Melancholy of Mechagirl by Catherynne M. Valente.

4 thoughts on “Bookmarked

  1. Holy mother of god this cover is gorgeous!! (Also the title. I read it and immediately wanted to read it. But I need to read her Fairyland books which for some unknown reason I haven’t gotten to yet!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love her writing. This collection showcases more experimental/surreal prose so I’d recommend starting with her YA Fairyland books first before you dive into this one. Fairyland is on my to-read-soon list (I don’t know why – because I’m crazy?) but I loved her previous books – In The Night Garden and Deathless because they play with folklore in a vivid way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

