Uncategorized

For Bibliophiles like us…

*Found at About to Read and Oboechica. Feel free to join in the tag!

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

If it’s a book I need to review or a library copy – those titles are on the top.

If it’s just for fun  – whatever excites me trumps all my plans.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I am committed. A good ending can win me over. Also, I like to have an informed opinion through finishing a story (where possible).

*Note: I take month long breaks if it’s a difficult read so I can return with fresh eyes. Sometimes, it’s a matter of timing and my own reading moods.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

For my 2015 reading challenge, I’m focusing on the diversity of the books rather than the number I’ve read. I’m jumping through my own loophole to evade numerical blackholes.

4. The covers of a series you love do not match. How do you cope?

It actually doesn’t bother me too much – as long as my favourite books are within arms reach, I’m good to go.

5. Everyone and their mothers love a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over their shared feelings?

Friends with a more critical taste or my sister.

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

This is what glasses are for – they are the perfect superhero shields.

7. A sequel of a book you love just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?

If I have time, I’ll re-read. Why in the world would I skip a sequel unless I’ve been forewarned?

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people no when they ask?

If it’s someone I trust, lending is fine. Otherwise, just being upfront and honest is the way to go.

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Walk away. Watch an anime. Dance to kpop. Let your mind unwind until the word cravings come back.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Depends on my monetary situation. If it’s a book all my siblings want to read then it moves up the list.

 1 1. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long they sit on your shelf before you get to them

I’ll either read it immediately (if it’s a first novel) or I will save the book for when I need it (if it’s part of a series, I’ll save it for a few months before I cave in and marathon.)

4 thoughts on “For Bibliophiles like us…

  1. 1. I’m definitely the same way about DNFs! I just feel like I can’t really lay out why I don’t like a book unless I’ve finished it. Because I’ve read books whose endings completely make me change my mind on the matter!

    2. It sounds like you and your siblings have pretty similar reading tastes? I wish I could say the same of my brother – he reads 99% nonfiction, but occasionally we’ll read the same classics now that he’s getting into them! But generally we don’t like the same kind of literature AT ALL.

    3. I’m pretty upfront about it with people too haha. Of course it helps I don’t have many people who WANT to borrow my books in the first place. Oh the woes of having nonreader friends… (although in this case maybe it’s pros?)

    4. *perks up* What’s this you say? Anime? K-Pop??? Ok. Hit me. Give me some favourites. Also please tell me you have an undying love for CNBlue. (Ok, ok it’s fine if you don’t. But I NEED someone to understand me on CNBlue! My boyfriend is Korean, so you’d expect some understanding, but mostly he’s highly entertained and somewhat confused by this.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We both love fantasy and scifi but my sister isn’t a big YA reader unless it’s an author she knows. My brother doesn’t read much but we share adventure/thriller books. He’s reads more manga (and consumes anime) than I do.

      Old anime favourites – Fruits Basket, Azumanga Daioh, R.O.D the TV, Samurai Champloo, Haibane Renmei, Ouran High School Host Club, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya etc.

      Recent anime – The Devil is a Part-Timer (Supernatural comedy)

      Kpop – Big Bang, 2ne1, Shinee, AkMu, f(x), Infinite and VIXX. I listen to the new releases that come out from random groups too. Yonghwa is adorable (his solo song was nice) and CNBlue’s music makes me happy but recently, I’ve been listening to FT-Island tracks *ducks away from the CNBlue sign.*

      Like

      1. Oooh there’s a bunch of anime here I don’t know! FB and OHSHC are old favourites that I’ve definitely watched multiple times, and I need to finish watching Samurai Champloo, but I haven’t heard of the others! (The artwork for Haibane Renmei looks beautiful)

        I’ve seen The Devil is a Part-Timer recommended for me on Netflix (I think) but wasn’t sure if it was my sort of thing or not. (Also Netflix just recommends like all the anime for me because its selection is so small haha!). Worth checking out?

        We definitely have similar K-Pop taste – I’ll have to check out Infinite and VIXX! Lol! FT-Island is not the devil…but I will always love CNBlue because they’re the best :-p

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haibane Renmei is wonderful quiet anime. I enjoyed The Devil is a Part-Timer because it’s funny how these epic fantasy like beings end up changing in the human world but I felt the ending was incomplete because the manga is still ongoing. I’d still recommend watching the pilot to see if the humor clicks.

        My brother also recommended a slice of life anime called My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU which is witty, insightful and funny from what I’ve watched so far. The guy is a bit judgmental but all the other characters shut down his ridiculous thoughts in a comedic way.

        Infinite and Vixx’s music videos are usually very dramatic (except for the lighter songs) with creative dance routines. Infinite’s music reminds of anime OSTs – just the way it builds up.

        Like

Leave a Reply

