book list · fantasy · top ten tuesday · young adult

Top 10 Books from my childhood (or teen years) that I would love to revisit

I haven’t re-read Harry Potter in the last few years because it carved a space in my mind which I can always visit but given the chance, I’d want to revisit:

The Earthsea Quartet (Earthsea Cycle, #1-4)

The Earthsea Quartet by Ursula K. Le Guin

This series exposed me to a different kind of magic and way of perceiving the world outside of Harry Potter (but I love both series equally). I adopted the library’s dusty copies of the sequels in high school but my sister bought the first 4 books in 1 volume as a present so I can voyage back.

Mortal Engines (The Hungry City Chronicles, #1)

Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve

Worldbuilding at it’s finest. I  hunted down the copy with the old illustrated cover.

Northern Lights (His Dark Materials, #1)

His Dark Materials Trilogy by Philip Pullman

I want to study how Pullman manages to write with enough space and nuance for the reader to imagine other layers to the story.

Obernewtyn (The Obernewtyn Chronicles, #1)

Obernewtyn by Isobelle Carmody

A rite of passage for any Australian fantasy reader. I want to re-read all the books before the final one appears.

Green Monkey Dreams: Stories

Green Monkey Dreams by Isobelle Carmody

One of my favourite short story collections. Every year, I revisit it.

Lirael (Abhorsen, #2)

Lirael by Garth Nix

Always close to my heart.

Fruits Basket, Vol. 1 (Fruits Basket, #1)

Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya

This series kept my anchored as a teen. It still is a wonderful anchor today. I should revisit it more often when ever I feel out of balance with life.

Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam, #1)

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Introduced me to the term: Speculative fiction. The first book that combined poetry with futuristic elements which blew my mind as a sixteen year old. I need to read the sequels at some point.

Nana, Vol. 1 (Nana, #1)

Nana by Ai Yazawa

I might relate more to the adult world of these books as an older reader now. I hope the artist/writer’s health has also improved over the years.

Cold Iron by Sophie Masson

There was something enchanting about this fairytale retelling I read as a child. I’d love to revisit it.

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Books from my childhood (or teen years) that I would love to revisit

  1. I haven’t ever read Obernewtyn, but seeing as I adore fantasy and am Australian, so the copies are really accessible to me, I’m supposing I should be giving the series a try sometime soon. I loved Carmoody’s Little Fur series, but never ventured away from that.
    Aah. Northern Lights. Have you read the whole series? I am so passionate about His Dark Materials. They got me so, so interested in black matter, and Lyra and Pan have such a gorgeous, real relationship. I really want to re-read the series, too! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked the first Little Fur book! I need to finish reading that series. Obernewtyn has a different tone to it but it does touch on the environment too. It’s an epic fantasy quest with a bit of a post-apocalyptic twist to it :). Yep, I’ve read the whole of His Dark Materials and I really adore it on so many levels. Ahh the ending of the final book gets me every time. The way he appropriated dark matter as dust was really fascinating! Did you hear that he’s working on a novel featuring Lyra set after the events of the series?

      Like

      1. Ah, His Dark Materials are just so fantastic. They give me happy sighs!
        I only heard that this week and am completely -beyond- excited about it! Can’t wait to see where it goes! xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You know, I’m surprised I don’t know more YA bloggers who have read/loved The Earthsea Quartet. I’m not sure if it’s categorized as YA, but I feel at the very least it’s a crossover audience and I just sort of would have expected loads of us to be fangirling about it. But I suppose…it’s a quiet sort of series, so it’s not really fangirl material if that makes sense? Not that it’s lesser but there are certain books that I love that don’t make me want to talk about them nonstop haha

    Lirael is my favourite from the Abhorsen trilogy too! Have you read Clariel yet? What did you think (if you did?)

    Ahhh Fruits Basket. My very first anime (and second manga). I’ve got a few of the volumes, but I’m trying to get all of them.

    NANA!!! Man, I don’t know ANYONE who has read this! I think I stopped reading halfway through because I found out the mangaka was ill and wasn’t working on it anymore (and it’s looking like that might be a permanent thing). I tend to have…meltdowns when I’m left on a cliffhanger. It’s not pretty. I don’t function. (It’s also why I tend to binge read series instead of read them as they come out, although that’s been changing since I started blogging). But god…I feel like even though it’s unfinished it’s such an underrated manga. The artwork is GORGEOUS (I actually have a portrait I bought from an artist that if it isn’t based on Nana Osaki…then it sure as hell looks just like her. I wonder if that’s a copyright problem…) and the story is just…I honestly don’t really have words for it. It’s just gorgeous. Have you read Cat Street? Something about how Nana makes me feel reminds me of Cat Street.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, definitely crossover! The Earthsea books are quiet stories that carve an important space inside. I agree – we’re still fangirling but in a different way. A lot of my friends have only heard of Ursula Le Guin’s scifi classics but I still love her Earthsea books. (I will read more of her scifi in the near future.) One of the bloggers from the Galactic Suburbia podcast just finished re-reading the Earthsea books if you want to read more reflective fangirling: http://randomalex.net/2015/02/28/a-wizard-of-earthsea/

      I remember picking up Lirael before I read Sabriel (I didn’t know Sabriel existed until afterwards – facepalm.) Ahhh I haven’t read Clariel (yet) but I went to the book launch! I solemnly swear that I will post my thoughts.

      Another Fruits Basket friend! I own the latter half of the manga (basically the parts that weren’t covered in the show.) It’s worth reading to the end.

      Ai Yazawa’s art is so beautiful! You were smart to discontinue reading because I was left hanging after an important event in the story…There’s enough detail for me to guess what might have happened but it’s still unresolved *reader’s tears. Although I heard the mangaka’s health has improved which is good news.

      I loved Cat Street! My memory is a bit fuzzy but I remember enjoying how the heroine slowly confronts her fears and opens up to others after making odd friends. Another book blogger – Krystle from http://need-tea.livejournal.com/ recommended it. I need to read more manga (especially slice of life, shoujo and josei – my favourite genres.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

