book list · fantasy · young adult

Time Turner Books

I’ve been listening to the SF Squee Podcast which features a regular panel of notable Science Fiction and Fantasy authors on various reading and writing topics. In Episode 35: Literary Influence is a Social Disease, the SF Squee Cast asked:

Which books do you wish you had read when you were young?

The Silver Metal Lover by Tanith Lee

5936460

“I’m not very good at being alive. Sometimes I despair of ever mastering it, getting it right.”

Give me all the internal drama buoyed by a coming of age arc. Stir in the whims of a musical android and Tanith Lee’s evocative futuristic worldbuilding.

Among Others by Jo Walton

16096212

“It doesn’t matter. I have books, new books, and I can bear anything as long as there are books.”

I’ve gushed about this book before. Also, check out this wonderful article by Walton on writing.

Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

12000020

“Words were different when they lived inside of you.”

On another note, fantasy is still my favorite genre but I would have loved to have stepped outside the traditional worlds for more cultural diversity at a younger age in:

– The Young Elites by Marie Lu

20821111

“It is pointless to believe what you see, if you only see what you believe.”

Seriously. The best anti-heroine story I’ve read in a while. Reviewed here.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K Jemisin

6437061

“We can never be gods, after all–but we can become something less than human with frightening ease.”

– Cold Magic by Kate Elliott

7114825

“What is freedom?” he asked bitterly, “and who is truly free? We are all bound by what we are, and where we come from.”
“Maybe,” I said slowly as I considered the turn my life had taken, the lies I had been told, “because we do not look farther than where we have been told to look. Perhaps it would all be different if we weren’t afraid of what we are. Or what we might become.”

I will someday gush properly about this series when I finish reading all three books.

Which books do you wish you had read when you were younger?

4 thoughts on “Time Turner Books

  1. Oooh! I don’t know anyone else who’s read Tanith Lee! I’ve actually never read this one, but it’s pretty much my goal to read all of her books haha. And Cold Magic is high on my list to get to as well!

    Like

    1. Tanith Lee’s books are so hard to find in Sydney! If I’m lucky, I can spot one in a secondhand bookshop. I’ve only read Biting the Sun and White as Snow so far. I like finding old school fantasy gems. Cold Magic is amazing – I found the beginning of the novel a bit confusing at first but once I figured which alternate time period I was in – the story took off.

      Like

      1. They’re really hard to find here! And holy COW are they expensive if you try to buy them online! I think a lot of her books are out of print so that’s why? And yeah, I actually find pretty much all of her books confusing for a while haha!

        Like

      2. I noticed that recently, some of her earlier stories have come out as Kobo/Kindle ebooks. I do use my ereader but I can’t seem to let go of my love for paper altogether. I know what you mean! I found Biting the Sun confusing the first time I tried to read it until I adjusted to the made-up slang and realised it was a satire.

        Like

Leave a Reply

